Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers

Title: Cracked Up to Be
Author: Courtney Summers
Page Count: 214
Summary: What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done?

When “Perfect” Parker Fadley starts drinking at school and failing her classes, all of St. Peter’s High goes on alert. How has the cheerleading captain, girlfriend of the most popular guy in school, consummate teacher’s pet, and future valedictorian fallen so far from grace?

Parker doesn’t want to talk about it. She’d just like to be left alone, to disappear, to be ignored. But her parents have placed her on suicide watch and her counselors are demanding the truth. Worse, there’s a nice guy falling in love with her and he’s making her feel things again when she’d really rather not be feeling anything at all.

Nobody would have guessed she’d turn out like this. But nobody knows the truth.

Something horrible has happened, and it just might be her fault. (Summary from GoodReads)

Review: I read Cracked Up to Be in one sitting because the power in my house went out all day and I didn’t have anything else to do but read, but I definitely don’t feel that my time was wasted. Lately, whenever I’ve read books that received a lot of hype, I haven’t understood why they were so popular. With Cracked Up to Be, it was totally the opposite.

From the moment I started reading, I was thrown into the life of Parker, who is probably the most real character I have ever encountered. She was funny and rude and bitchy but at the same time, I couldn’t help but like her and I was so intrigued as to why she was broken. I read this book in one sitting (which may or may not have to do with the power going out and no internet for me browse) and that’s something I haven’t done in a long time.

I think it’s kind of funny because I related to Parker so much: she doesn’t hold back what she thinks, even if it’s rude or not something that should be spoken aloud. And she was hilarious. She has the kind of dry humor that I strive to perfect. I probably shouldn’t admit that I’m too much like her, because she was a real bitch, but I don’t know.

Cracked Up to Be was short, at only 214 pages, but it definitely packed a punch. That is why I’m going to give it my first ever, in the history of Read Sam, Read, perfect rating:

Rating: 5/5 stars

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers

  1. Awesome review, I totally agree. This was one of my favorite reads of the year–Parker was just so awesome and snarky and the dialogue and writing were both fabulous πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

