Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

Title: Heart’s Blood
Author: Juliet Marillier
Page Count: 402
Summary: Anluan has been crippled since childhood, part of a curse that has besieged his family and his home of Whistling Tor. But when the young scribe Caitrin is retained to sort through family documents, she brings about unexpected changes in the household, casting a hopeful light against the despairing shadows.

But to truly free Anluan’s burdened soul, Caitrin must unravel the web of sorcery woven by his ancestors before it claims his life-and their love…

Review: Juliet Marillier is one of my favorite fantasy authors, right there next to JK Rowling and Cecilia Dart-Thornton, so when I found out she had a new book coming out, I made my sister get it for me for Christmas. She wrote the Sevenwaters series, which is a must-read for anyone who likes fantasy.

At first, Heart’s Blood didn’t capture my attention, but most of Marillier’s books take a little while to get into. The main character, Caitrin, is a bit hard to relate to at first, but her character becomes very well-developed as the book goes on. All of the characters, in fact, are very well developed, and the plot is really interesting and unique. One thing that did annoy me, though, was that Caitrin came from such a terrible situation and she was so hopeful and optimistic that it didn’t seem real to me, at least in the beginning.

One of the best characters, in my opinion, is Anluan. Marillier’s love stories always tug at my heartstrings and the fact that Anluan was so flawed made it all the better. At first, I didn’t like him at all, but, since the story is in first-person, I got to like him as Caitrin did. Still, I thought their love story was a bit underdeveloped – there wasn’t enough of them bonding for my tastes.

The ending was amazing. I’m trying to so hard not to give anything away, but I will tell you this: the ending made me cry. (Well, almost. I was holding it back so I’d keep my dignity.) It was super sweet and made me feel all gushy and happy inside.

Overall, Heart’s Blood is definitely one of my new favorite fantasy novels. The love story is cute and the plot, though a bit slow in the beginning, definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat near the end. I’d recommend this to any fan of fantasy.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

