Bliss by Lauren Myracle

Title: Bliss
Author: Lauren Myracle
Page Count: 444
Summary: It’s the summer of 1969, and Bliss has been unceremoniously dumped by her hippie parents into the custody of her grandmother. Soon Bliss finds herself adjusting to life as a freshman at a fancy Atlanta school—and it’s a lot different from life on the commune. Although she quickly finds “normal” friends, she is drawn to Sandy, a gruff and unpopular girl with a long-standing grudge against Sarah Lynn, the icy beauty of the freshman class. The push and pull of the school drama is engaging enough, but there’s another element pressurizing the situation: an unsettling voice calling to Bliss from inside one of the school buildings, a voice somehow related to strange blood rituals and a long-ago suicide. (From Amazon)

Review: One thing I do after I finish a book is go on Amazon and see how other people liked it. They usually mention things that I didn’t notice or things that I liked in a bad way and I feel like it gives me a more objective view about the book. However, imagine my surprise when I found that people had a lot of complaints with Bliss!

I’m not usually a horror reader and Bliss wasn’t too scary; creepy and a little gross, but definitely not frightening. It was 444 pages, but I didn’t feel that it dragged on at all; in fact, I was dreading the conclusion because Bliss was finally having a normal life.

The main character was very likable. Usually, I feel a little weird reading about people more than two years younger than me, and I know that 14 isn’t so far away, but I just feel like I can’t relate to their mindset, you know? With Bliss, that wasn’t the case. She felt very mature and I think that was appropriate, because her parents were made out to seem immature; especially since they abandoned her with her grandmother.

Everyone seems to have a problem with the ending. It wasn’t happy, so I guess that’s understandable. I, however, really liked the ending. It seemed realistic to me, if you can say that about a horror novel like this one.

Another thing I really liked was the layout of the book. The chapters were very short, which made the 444 pages go by very quickly, and there were quotes from popular media of the time, since it was set in 1969, and diary entries from a mysterious S.L.L. The book was also set about the backdrop of the Manson murders, which I thought was very appropriate. A lot of Charles Manson’s crazy quotes reflected the antagonists thoughts.

Overall, I really enjoyed Bliss. It was one of those books that I felt very satisfied with when it was finished. However, there wasn’t enough ‘oomph’ for me. There was something lacking; maybe the horror part wasn’t developed enough. I’m not sure. But I would definitely recommend this to any YA horror fans.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

